Profile (updated general data a bit in 2006, the rest is still obsolete)

On the other parts of Samanet, there's only little you can get to know about me. Okay, you might know my name and if you're a friend, family member or acquaintance, you might know more. But if you don't, and you do want to, you have come to the right area of Samanet. Here, I will write down everything about myself that might be relevant. Just to give you the option to get to know more about me in the case you wanted to. And if you don't want to, you can always select another option and skip this part :). Well, enough said now. Here's my profile:

General data
Name: Hendericus (Rieks) Warendorp Torringa
Date of birth: July 15th, 1979
Place of birth: Zuurdijk, Groningen, The Netherlands

Graduated at Leiden University, Japanese Language and Culture
Currently studying Law (parttime) at Leiden University

Occupation: Assistent Librarian at the library of the Japanese and Korean Language and Culure department of Leiden University (parttime) and partner at Bazix VOF (
E-mail address: (MSN Messenger enabled, but I hardly use this address)
Nickname: Sama
Favourite bands: Anathema, Nightwish, Within Temptation, After Forever, Luna Sea, Tristania

Japan and Japanese background

From 1997 to 2003 I have studied Japanese Language and Culture at the University of Leiden, the Netherlands. After six years of intense study and stays abroad, I graduated in August, 2003 and can call myself 'Master of Arts'. I have lived two separate years in Japan, from September 1998 to August 1999 and from September 2000 to July 2001. Both years I stayed in the Dutch theme park Huis ten Bosch, Nagasaki prefecture. Apart from that, I went on internship for three months in the summer of 2002 at Kumon in Osaka.

My major is the Japanese language, although I did workgroups on Japanese religion and anthropology as well.

And... for those interested: a picture of me... Not one of the best, though :)